AGF Teacher of the Year

To encourage and recognize the many amateur players who are actively engaged in teaching Go to beginners, the American Go Foundation established the Teacher of the Year Award in 1996. The winner receives an all expenses paid trip to the premiere Go event in the nation, the US Go Congress, where the award will be presented at the final banquet.

To be eligible, an amateur teacher must be an AGA member, and have been teaching Go for at least one hour a week, for the past two years*. Meeting any of the additional criteria below (or several of them) will strengthen any nomination for Teacher of the Year.

Started a Go club for children
Organized tournaments for kids, or helped them enter existing tournaments
Developed teaching materials for beginners, either written or online (particularly for children).
Taught children (and others) online
Taught underserved populations (prisoners, seniors, mental patients, etc…)
Designed and created new outreach projects.

Nominations of volunteer teachers who work with children are strongly encouraged, and favored, but any eligible teacher whose activities qualify under other criteria stated above, will also be considered.

*Teachers in K-12 schools whose programs run only during the school year are also eligible.

If you would like to recommend someone for this award, including yourself, please write to Letters of recommendation are always helpful, but are not required. Due to the great number of wonderful teachers out there, this award is very competitive. Past nominees have often entered multiple years in a row, and teachers are encouraged to reapply if they are not selected the first time.

Past TOTY Recipients

  • 1996: Sasha Orr
  • 1997: Susan Weir
  • 1998: Peter Rzepecki
  • 1999: James Chien
  • 2000: Herb Doughty
  • 2001: Carter Kemp
  • 2002: James Bonomo
  • 2003: Todd Heidenreich
  • 2004: Not awarded
  • 2005: Not awarded
  • 2006: Paul Barchilon
  • 2007: John Eckelcamp
  • 2008: Vincent Eisman
  • 2009: Joshua Frye



  • 2010: "Su Co" Marjorie Hey
  • 2011: Fritz Balwit
  • 2012: Joe Walters
  • 2013: Richard Moseson
  • 2014: Peter Freedman
  • 2015: Xinming Simon Guo
  • 2016: Paul Lockhart
  • 2017: Wenguang Wang
  • 2018: Ted Terpstra
  • 2019: Nick Sibicky
  • 2020: Frank Luo
  • 2021: Pete Schumer
  • 2022: Milan Mladenovic